Professor Wieland Gevers qualified in Medicine with first class honours at the University of Cape Town in 1960. He proceeded as a Rhodes Scholar to Oxford University to obtain the DPhil degree and subsequently embarked on postdoctoral study in the laboratory of Nobelist Dr Fritz Lipmann at Rockefeller University before returning to South Africa in 1970.

He was appointed Professor of Medical Biochemistry at Stellenbosch University in 1971, moved to UCT in 1978 and directed the Medical Research Council Research Units at both the University of Stellenbosch and UCT for over twenty years. Wieland assumed the position of Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor at UCT in 1992 and served in this role until his formal retirement at the end of 2002. He subsequently took up a two-year term as the founding Interim Director of UCT’s Institute for Infectious Disease and Molecular Medicine.

Professor Gevers has enjoyed membership of various national and international boards and committees over the years, including the South Africa Biochemical Society, the Royal Society of South Africa, the Academy of Science of South Africa (as both its President and  Executive Officer), the Academy of Sciences of the Developing World (TWAS) and the TWAS Committee on Medical Sciences and he holds a Distinguished Teacher’s Award and Life Fellowship from UCT.

In July 2010, he was appointed Deputy Chair of the National Ministerial Review Committee on the ‘Science, Technology and Innovation Landscape’ of South Africa.